Wizards of Waverly S4E13: Meet the (Smelly Smelly) Werewolves

22 06 2011

Okay, so it’s my shameful secret (which I’m blogging about) that I’m a fan of Wizards of Waverly Place. I don’t really remember how I started watching it, but I’m guessing channel surfing should take the blame for this. I was just so surprised when I realized I sat through an entire episode and it didn’t make me wanna leap up to change the channel or put a fist through the screen.

The show’s been running for three seasons and this current fourth season will be its last. Unlike all the other Disney/Nickelodeon tween-coms out there, the writing on this show is pretty decent, the kid/tween stars can ACT and they don’t dial up the stupid.

I’ve been waiting with baited breath for the show to return since May and the new episode, Meet the Werewolves, finally aired a couple of days ago. I gotta say…I was pretty disappointed.

The show initially started out with a cast of 6: Jerry and Theresa Russo, their 3 kids (Max, Alex and Justin) and Harper, Alex’s BFF. (I can’t believe I just typed BFF.)

As the show progressed, the cast grew a bit larger. Justin’s friend Zeke (actor Dan Benson) became Harper’s boyfriend and Mason (actor Gregg Sulkin) the werewolf was brought in as a love interest for Alex.

Now I gotta be honest, it took a while for Zeke to grow on me. At first he felt like a Disney-com tween: a lot of overacting and a lot of shouting…then I finally understood that the character is just SO! EASILY! EXCITED! ABOUT! EVERYTHING! and that garnered a few chuckles out of me. An absolutely mental character.

The opposite has happened with Mason. He started out as a pretty low-key character but in the new episode, he totally Disney’d out. He literally turned into one of those Zack & Cody gits. I just don’t understand what happened in between the break. It’s like someone just said, “Let’s dial up the stupid! The show’s finishing anyway! WHO GIVES A SHIT!?”.

I hope it’ll get better before the series ends.

Inappropriate skin quota met:

The guys of Waverly

Same guys of Waverly





Loose….Footloose….

22 06 2011

I just sat through the trailer for the remake of Footlose and I gotta say….WHAT THE HELL?

No no, I’m not talking about why you would remake this, and I’m not talking about the You Got Served/Step-Up dance crew thing…instead of whatever Kevin Bacon was doing in the original…but the trailer ITSELF.

Now it’s been years since I’ve actually sat through Footloose, but I still remember the gist: Kid moves to a new town that’s outlawed dancing, kid changes said law through dancing. Or something. From the looks of it, not much has changed in the remake, but I’m assuming they’ve swapped the game of tractor-chicken with Burning Man school buses exploding and replacing a real train with a really awful CG one.

After watching this new trailer, I can say (with 100% certainty) that there’s absolutely no need to actually sit down to watch the movie. Not because of any of the gripes listed above, but the trailer essentially shows

EVERY.

SINGLE.

PLOT POINT.

OF THE MOVIE.

Why would you cut a trailer (of a remake) like this? Is it to save old fogies time so they won’t have to shuffle to the theatres in their walkers because you’ve essentially watched the movie after seeing the trailer?

Anyway, here’s the trailer. Save yourself $13 and 80 minutes. Or go re-live the original.





Marvel/DC Comic Reboots

22 06 2011

I complain a lot about TV shows and movies getting rebooted. It’s actually not so bad. Well, when you compare that to the Tits & Spandex comics of North America.

The N.A. Comic Industry feels like there’s a big red REBOOT button that’s helmed by one of those dipping-bird contraptions. Marvel used to “relaunch” their titles every couple of years, it seems, and DC was the king of multiple universes….until they got rid of all of them. Or something to the likes. I don’t really remember anymore.

Recently, the DC Universe decided to take 52 of their titles and bring everything back to square one by rebooting them all.

How anyone can get emotionally invested with any characters if all they’re just going to reboot it a few years down the road is beyond me.

But I digress, what ACTUALLY sparked this post was a picture of the new Nightwing that I stumbled upon.

Odd that they would decide to go with a costume design that’s so reminiscent of the version featured in the movie that killed the theatrical franchise. Or were they thinking that nobody would notice because the movie was mentally blocked by our collective memories?